profile picture for Jim Elser

Jim Elser

Director, Sustainable Phosphorus Alliance

Jim Elser is a limnologist and National Academy of Sciences member with research focused on the effect of key limiting nutrients such as nitrogen and phosphorus in lake ecosystems. He is a Research Professor and Distinguished Sustainability Scientist in ASU’s School of Life Sciences and School of Sustainability and serves as the Director for the Sustainable Phosphorus Alliance. He is also director of the Flathead Lake Biological Station of the University of Montana.

profile picture for Matt Scholz

Matt Scholz

Senior Program Manager, Sustainable Phosphorus Alliance

Matt Scholz is the Senior Project Manager for the Sustainable Phosphorus Alliance and a Research Professor at Arizona State. He worked for 3 years as a Senior Research Scientist for The Sustainability Consortium after completing a postdoc in the Department of Chemistry at Colorado School of Mines and a PhD at the University of Arizona, where his research focused on algal biofuels. He has worked in maize molecular genetics and holds an MS in environmental engineering from the University of Arizona.

profile picture for Olga Borquez

Olga Borquez

Program Manager, Sustainable Phosphorus Alliance

Olga Borquez is the Program Manager for the Sustainable Phosphorus Alliance. She worked for 4 years as a Sustainability Manager in the organic agriculture industry at Wholesum Family Farms in the US and in Mexico, focusing on data analysis for efficient use of resources, CSR reporting, grant development, environmental planning and community impact work.

Board of directors

profile picture for Adam Herges

Adam Herges

Sustainability Agronomist Advisor, The Mosaic Company

profile picture for Kerry McNamara

Kerry McNamara

Senior Advisor, OCP North America

profile picture for Ron Restum

Ron Restum

Chief Commercial Officer, Ostara

profile picture for Ross Sozzani

Ross Sozzani

Professor, North Carolina State University

profile picture for Karl Wyant

Karl Wyant

Director of Agronomy, Nutrien